• Elementary and Middle School Assessment

    Elementary and Middle School Assessment




    The Maryland Comprehensive Assessment Program (MCAP) measures how schools are performing and how students are progressing towards proficiency on the Maryland state content standards.


    ELA/L and Math

    Students are assessed annually in grades 3-8 in the areas of English Language Arts/Literacy (ELA/L) and Mathematics.

    Maryland Integrated Science Assessment (MISA)

    The Maryland Integrated Science Assessment (MISA) is given annually to students in grades 5 and 8. MISA measures students' proficiency on the Next Generation Science Standards.


    Social Studies

    In May 2020, students in grade 8 will take the MCAP Social Studies field test. The assessment will measure students' knowledge of United States History from 1763-1890 as well as their ability to analyze sources and construct arguments using claims.



    The Alternate Maryland Integrated Science Assessment (Alt-MISA) is administered to students in grades 5 and 8 with significant cognitive disabilities and for whom MISA would not be appropriate.



    The Multi-State Alternate Assessment (MSAA) is based on alternate achievement standards in ELA/L and Math and is given to students in grades 3-8 with significant cognitive disabilities.

    ACCESS for ELLs

    Assessing Comprehension and Communication in English State-to-State for English Language Learners is a secure large-scale English language proficiency assessment given to Kindergarten through 12th graders who have been identified as English language learners (ELLs). It is given annually in WIDA Consortium member states to monitor students' progress in acquiring academic English.



    The Kindergarten Readiness Assessment (KRA) is an observational and assessment tool administered to all Kindergarten students within the first few weeks of the school year. The KRA measures skills, knowledge and behaviors kindergarteners should be able to demonstrate at the start of the year.


    PSAT 8/9

    The Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test 8/9 (PSAT 8/9) is given to all 8th grade students during the first week of December. The PSAT 8/9 shares characteristics with other assessments in the SAT suite of assessments. The assessment covers three broad categories - math, reading, and writing and language. The PSAT 8/9 introduces students to the types of questions that can be found on PSAT/NMSQT, PSAT 10 and SAT. It can also forecast a student's readiness for high school curriculum.

    The PSAT 8/9 is also used as the entrance exam for the high school specialty programs. CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION.



    The Otis-Lennon School Ability Test (OLSAT) is administered to all students in 1st and 3rd grades and selected students in 2nd grade. The test is a measure of verbal and non-verbal reasoning ability and abstract thinking. The OLSAT is one of the factors used to determine eligibility into the Talented and Gifted Program (TAG).


    The Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT) is administered to selected students in 4th and 5th grades. This online test is a measure of verbal, quantitative and spatial (non-verbal) reasoning abilities. The CogAT is one of the factors use to determine eligibility into the Talented and Gifted Program (TAG).


    For further information contact:

    Peggy Harrington
    Test Administration Supervisor (Elementary/Middle School)

    Sarah Crisman
    Test Administration Specialist (Elementary/Middle School)

    Pamela Stewart
    Test Administration Specialist (Elementary/Middle School)